Members in the Spotlight

IEEE Canada members shine in NSERC 2015 Discovery Accelerator competition

Amongst this year's 125 successful applicants for the prestigious NSERC 2015 Discovery Accelerator Supplements Program, 17 are IEEE Canada members - an impressive representation given the broad scope of research funded.

Supporting all natural science fields and engineering disciplines, supplements are expected to "accelerate progress and maximize the impact of outstanding research programs." The awards for 2015 are valued at $120,000 over three years per recipient. They were announced on June 22.

Congratulations to the following members as they continue on with their top-notch research:

Hamilton Section    Nicola Nicolici
McMaster University
Systematic and Structural Methods for Post-Silicon Validation
Kingston Section    Juergen Dingel
Queen's University
A toolkit for the analysis of models of real-time embedded software
London Section   Arash Reyhani-Masoleh
University of Western Ontario
Efficient and reliable computations for lightweight and/or high-performance cryptosystems: algorithms, architectures
Newfoundland and Labrador Section   Eric Gill
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Radio wave scattering from rough surfaces -- theory and application to ocean remote sensing with HF and marine radar
North Saskatchewan Section   Chanchal Kumar Roy
University of Saskatchewan
Change, similarity and redundancy in software
Ottawa Section   Xiaoping (Peter) Liu
Carleton University
Towards realistic surgical simulation and training systems
Quebec Section    Jean-Yves Chouinard
Université Laval
Méthodes de transmission de l'information robustes et sécuritaires dans les réseaux coopératifs sans fil hyperdenses
Toronto Section    Ben Liang
University Of Toronto
Integrated communication and computation resource management for mobile cloud computing

Paul Milgram
University Of Toronto
Augmented visual displays for teleoperation
Vancouver Section   Alan Hu
University of British Columbia
Automated formal verification at the hardware/software boundary

Lukas Chrostowski
University of British Columbia
Silicon photonics integrated circuit design

Jie Liang
Simon Fraser University
Advanced signal processing for mobile social media sharing

Martin Ordonez
University of British Columbia
Renewable flex DC building-scale energy systems

Meenakshinathan (Ash) Parameswaran
Simon Fraser University
Graphite-based electrochemical sensors for detecting bio molecules in low-cost medical diagnostic instruments

Karthik Pattabiraman
University of British Columbia
Building error resilient software on next generation computing platforms
Kitchener/Waterloo Section   Soo Jeon
University of Waterloo
Multimodal sensory integration and control for interactive dexterous in-hand object manipulation
Winnipeg Section    Shaahin Filizadeh
University Of Manitoba
Novel paradigms for transient simulation of modern electric-power systems

Podium presence for IEEE Canada at 2015 Canadian Academy of Engineering Fellows induction

Ten of the 50 new Fellows recently inducted into the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) are IEEE Canada members.

In a ceremony in Hamilton on June 4, CAE President Pierre Lortie paid tribute to the recipients' exemplary contributions and expressed "boundless anticipation as to how these new Fellows will build upon [their] good works and explore new and exciting areas of engineering and its impact on public policy."

Along with the Engineering Institute of Canada and five other engineering bodies, the Canadian Academy of Engineering is a member of the Canadian Engineering Leadership Forum. We salute all the 2015 CAE Fellows as outstanding Canadian engineers, and in particular the following of our own:

Hamilton Section   Natalia K. Nikolova
London Section   Charles X. Ling
Montreal Section   Miguel Anjos
David Haccoun
Innocent Kamwa
Federico Rosei
North Canada Section   Horacio J Marquez
Ottawa Section   Wen Tong
Vancouver Section   Ash Parameswaran
Kitchener/Waterloo Section   Raouf Boutaba

Prof. Dave Plant received a Commercialization Award from the ReMAP network

David Plant, professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, McGill University, received a Commercialization Award from the Refined Manufacturing Acceleration Process (ReMAP) network. ReMAP is a Business-Led Networks of Centres of Excellence (BL-NCE) program.

The award was received for work done on developing next-generation optical modulators for high-speed optical communication applications using indium phosphide technology. The resulting modulators will provide smaller form factor packages at a lower cost, improving the scalability of 100Gb/s and future 400Gb/s systems.

IEEE Canadian Foundation

The Personal

Engineering Institute of Canada

IEEE Job Site

IEEE Member Discounts


A non-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest professional association for the advancement of technology.

© Copyright 2014 IEEE. All rights reserved. Use of this digital site signifies your agreement to the terms and conditions.