Members in the Spotlight

Jonathan Holzman honoured with Engineers Canada medal for Engineering Education

Jonathan Holzman, Vancouver Section, Associate Professor at the University of British Columbia, is the 2017 recipient of the Medal for Distinction in Engineering Education from Engineers Canada.

Dr. Jonathan Holzman develops micro- and nano-photonic technologies, with device fabrication carried out in UBC's Applied Micro and Nano Systems Facility. The developed technologies are targeted at a variety of applications, including ultrafast all-optical process, optical wireless communications, terahertz spectroscopy, and others. He is known by his students and staff for implementing a number of innovative teaching methods and taking the time to explain to students the practical application of the topic they are learning about, often using technology for teaching, including live demonstrations involving lasers.

In honouring Dr. Holzman, Engineers Canada describes him "Jonathan's dedication to teaching effectiveness, service to his students, and his contributions to innovation and education are unsurpassed".

Source from Engineers Canada.

Ashok Vijh receives Montréal Highest Honoary Award

Dr. Ashok Vijh, Life Fellow of IEEE, receives the Ordre de Montréal medal, the city's highest distinction.

Dr. Vijh received the title of Chevalier on Montréal's 375th anniversary at Montréal city hall on May 17, 2017, along with sixteen other award recipients. The Ordre de Montréal recognizes women and men who have contributed in a remarkable way to the city's development and reputation.

Dr. Vijh, nicknamed the "father of electrochemical physics", is a distinguished scientist and a founding member of the HydroQuébec Institute of Research (IREQ). He is behind dozens of scientific breakthroughs, which have resulted in innovations across many different sectors, including energy, electric industry and certain areas of cancer research.

IEEE Canada Awards Gala

IEEE Canada announce the recipients of its 2017 Awards and Medals. (IEEE Canada Newsletter - April 2017). The Awards was presented at the IEEE Canada Awards Gala on May 1, 2017 at the Caesars Windsor, Windsor, ON.

Jason Gu (Vice-Chair, Awards & Recognition Committee), Leslie Rusch (R.A. Fessenden Medal), Fabrice Labeau (W.S. Read Outstanding Service Gold Medal), Praveen Jain (Power Medal), Federico Rosei (Outstanding Engineer Medal), Weiming Shen (R.H. Tanner Medal), Hussein Mouftah (C.C. Gotlieb Medal), Rossitza Marinova (E.F. Glass Western Canada Merit Medal), Witold Kinsner (President of IEEE Canada)

IEEE Canadian Foundation

The Personal

IEEE Job Site

IEEE Member Discounts


A non-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest professional association for the advancement of technology.

© Copyright 2014 IEEE. All rights reserved. Use of this digital site signifies your agreement to the terms and conditions.