Members in the Spotlight

2016 IEEE Medal Recipients

IEEE Medals are the highest awards that the IEEE presents on behalf of the IEEE Board of Directors. IEEE Medals embrace significant and broad IEEE interests and purposes. The nomination deadline is July 1st. Awards are presented at the IEEE Honors Ceremony.

James H. Mulligan, JR. Education Medal

For a career of outstanding contributions to education in the fields of interest of IEEE, sponsored by MathWorks; Pearson; and the IEEE Life Members Fund.


SIMON S. HAYKIN (LFIEEE) - Distinguished University Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario


For contributions to engineering education in adaptive signal processing and communication.

2016 IEEE Technical Field Awards

The IEEE Technical Field Awards are awarded for contributions or leadership in specific fields of interest of the IEEE. The nomination deadline is Jan 31. Awards are presented at Society events.

Herman Halperin Electric Transmission and Distribution Award

Recognizes outstanding contributions to electric transmission and distribution - sponsored by the Robert and Ruth Halperin Foundation, in memory of Herman and Edna Halperin, and the IEEE Power & Energy Society.


GEORGE ANDERS (FIEEE) - President, Anders Consulting Ltd., Woodbridge, Ontario


For contributions to advances in computational methods for the thermal rating of electric power cables.

Richard Harold Kaufmann Award

Recognizes outstanding contributions in industrial systems engineering - sponsored by the IEEE Industry Applications Society.


G.S. PETER CASTLE (LFIEEE) - Professor Emeritus and Adjunct Research Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Western Ontario, London, Ontario


For developments of applied electrostatic devices and processes in industry, agriculture, and environmental protection.

Donald O. Pederson Award in Solid-State Circuits

Recognizes outstanding contributions to solid-state circuits - sponsored by the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society.


MILES A. COPELAND (FIEEE) - Distinguished Research Professor (retired), Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario


For contributions to the design and application of switched-capacitor and RF signal processing circuits.

2016 IEEE Computer Society Merwin Award

The Merwin Award is given to individuals for outstanding volunteer service to the profession at large, including significant service to the Computer Society. The Society's highest award for volunteer service, the award consists of a bronze medal and a $5,000 honorarium.


Michael R. Williams - IEEE Computer Society past president (2007) and longtime volunteer, Professor Emeritus, Department of Computer Science, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta>


For exemplary contributions to the computing profession through outstanding scholarship and enduring and committed volunteer participation and leadership of the IEEE Computer Society.

IEEE Canadian Foundation

The Personal

Engineering Institute of Canada

IEEE Job Site

IEEE Member Discounts


A non-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest professional association for the advancement of technology.

© Copyright 2014 IEEE. All rights reserved. Use of this digital site signifies your agreement to the terms and conditions.