Members in the Spotlight

IEEE Canada members receive top NSERC Awards

The research excellence of three IEEE Canada members was recognized in a ceremony presided over by Canada's Governor General, The Right Honorable David Johnston, at Rideau Hall, on February 16.

Edward (Ted) Sargent, University Of Toronto, Department Of ECE, shared 2016 The Brockhouse Canada Prize with another University of Toronto professor for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering.

Emil Petriu, University of Ottawa, EECS School, was one of four researchers to receive 2016 Synergy Award for Innovation.


Edward (Ted) Sargent (left) and Emil Petriu (right) are congratulated by Canada's Governor General, David Johnston, at Rideau Hall.
Photo Credits: Master Corporal Vincent Carbonneau, Rideau Hall ©Her Majesty The Queen, in Right of Canada represented by the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General (2016)

Ashok Vijh received Inaugural Alumni Award from Univesity of Ottawa Faculty of Science

Ashok Vijh, a world-renowned electrochemist and a research master at the Institut de recherche d'Hydro-Québec (IREQ), was one of five inaugural recipients of the Faculty of Science Alumni Award of Excellence.

The Faculity of Science Alumni Award of Excellence was created in 2015 to recognize and celebrate University of Ottawa Faculaty of Science alumni and their amazing accomplishments from across a wide spectrun of professions and industries.

Ashok Vijh's book (with co-authors) "LITHIUM BATTERIES" was published by Springer ( New York and Switzerland) recently.

IEEE Canadian Foundation

The Personal

Engineering Institute of Canada

IEEE Job Site

IEEE Member Discounts


A non-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest professional association for the advancement of technology.

© Copyright 2014 IEEE. All rights reserved. Use of this digital site signifies your agreement to the terms and conditions.